3D Chair

I was very excited about this project. I’ve played with Photoshop and done a Web Design class so I have definitely had my fair share of digital design. I have never done anything it 3D though. It was exciting yet challenging trying to work with a program I’ve never seen before. I used SketchUp but I wish I looked into other programs. The free version I used was not very full of options. I got to play around with the tools and started creating a chair based on one I saw.

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 7.36.20 PM

Then I restarted the project and made up my own chair. Once I had tried out a few of the tools it became easier to play around with it. Even though it became easier I still could not figure out a lot of it. I tried different things to improve my chair but it was hard to figure out how to do certain things.

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 8.48.22 PM

I wish I was capable of creating a more complex chair and I know that in the future I will try to work on projects with this or another software because I find 3D design to be challenging and fascinating. I can’t wait for when I can use the program to create something worthy or being printed out. As happy as I am that I created this chair, there is so much more I can do to improve it.

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 11.09.01 PM

I was excited to find the feature where you can add already created objects to yours. I found this pillow and I figured adding it would help the chair look a little more realistic.

Screen Shot 2015-06-21 at 9.40.52 PM

Overall I was really glad that I got to experience using such a program and I will definitely work more on it. I would love to come back to the blog and post my progress when I become better at it.

Leave a Reply

